Alumni Nomination and Hatchet Fund Donation
The Hatchet Fund

Bad Axe Public Schools and the Huron County Community Foundation proudly partnered in 2015 to form the Hatchet Fund. The Hatchet Fund is designed to benefit the excellent programs offered through the school.  School funds are a great way for alumni, employees, and communities to support local schools permanently by giving to an endowment. As long as the school exists, gifts to the fund will continue to provide additional funding to the district for field trips, athletics and other extracurricular activities, fine arts programs, technology updates, and much more.  The idea to start the Hatchet Fund came from the great people of the Bad Axe community who donate their time, talents, and money to our school programs.  In working with HCCF the process to donate is very simple and donors will know that their gift is going directly to help with the high quality education provided to our students.

The Hatchet Fund benefits the school after the endowed balance reaches $5,000.  Once the fund starts to grant to the District, how the grant dollars are distributed will be done through an internal application process and selected by the Hatchet Fund committee.  Teachers and student groups will apply for funding for special projects, equipment, or other educational aides that helps assist with student growth in and out of the classroom.  

If you would like to make a gift to the Hatchet Fund, checks can be made out to HCCF, writing Hatchet Fund in the Memo line, and send them to the Huron County Community Foundation at PO 56, Bad Axe. Gifts via credit card can be made online at  HCCF is a 501(c)3 organization that can accept estate gifts, stocks, investments, gifts of land, and gift of crops. Please contact the Foundation for more details on supporting the Hatchet Fund at 989-269-2850. 

In January of 2018, the fund had grown enough thanks to our generous donors to begin awarding funds to applicants.  The fund is awarded each year in the early spring months.  

Hatchet Fund Grant Application
Click on the link to complete the Hatchet Fund Grant Application Form.
Hatchet Fund Grant Recipients
2021 Mr. Don Schadd $300 CNC Software 
2020 Mrs. Autumn Swartzedruber $250 Boosting Ceramics
2019 Mrs. Mary Booms $160 Reading Enrichment Student Books
2018 Mr. Ron Johnston $115 Middle School Physical Education Archery Unit
Alumni Recipients

Bad Axe Public Schools is honored to recognize the following individuals who have received the Bad Axe Distinguished Alumni Award.

Click Here for Complete Bio of Distinguished Alumni (in PDF)


 2019 Mrs. Janice Holz  Class of 1960   Mr. Richard Etzler Class of 1983      
2018 Dr. Clark Herrington  Class of 1944    Mr. Leland "Jack" Rochefort Class of 1951      
2017 Mr. Richard Lee  Class of 1957   Mr. William "Bill" Tageson  Class of 1960      
2016 Mrs. Cheryl (Rivard) Rice  Class of 1974     Mr. Donald Clark Class of 1963      
2015 Mr. George Haley Class of 1966   Dr. E. Lea Schelke Class of 1958   Mr. James Volk  Class of 1957
2014 Mr. Stephen Moore Class of 1979   Capt. Thomas Otterbein  Class of 1966   Mr. John Rowland Class of 1956
What is Distinguished Alumni Award?
Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes alumni who personify one or more of the following:
  • Service to their community
  • Serving as positive, inspiring role model to young adults and others in their community
  • Distinction in professional and personal life.

Each year's class of Distinguished Alumni are inducted as part of the High School Graduation ceremony.   The Class of 2020 inductees will take place on May 31, 2020.

How do I nominate a Hatchet Alumnus?

1.  Click on the link Distinguished Alumni Nomination Form by scrolling back to the top of this webpage.
2.  Complete the nomination form by including:

  • Contact Information of the Nominee
  • Contact Information of the person nominating
  • Description of the alumnus' contributions to their community, profession, or to the state/nation.

3.  Nominations for the Alumni Award must be received by February 15 of that year for consideration.  Nominations will be accepted at any time and all nominations will be kept on file for future considerations.
4.  Nominations forms should be submitted to:       
           Bad Axe Public Schools
           Board of Education Office
           c/o Distinguished Alumni Committee
           200 N. Barrie Road
           Bad Axe, MI 48413


Friends of Youth Designee

The Friends of Youth is a long standing tradition established in conjunction with the annual Thumb Meet of Champions in the sport of track and field.  Each year, districts from around the Thumb of Michigan select and honor an individual(s) who made a special contribution to youth and youth programs and is not restricted to athletic programs.  Those selected are then recognized as part of the Thumb Meet of Champions held in Caro, MI.  The following is the list of "Bad Axe Friends of Youth" who have earned this distinction representing Bad Axe Schools.


1987 Ervin Ignash 1988 John Blackstock 1989 Bill Walker
1990 Lee Kahler 1992 Virginia Jias 1993 Mike Cottick
1994 Rich Cook 1995 Larry Gavitt 1996 Larry Swackhamer
1997 Sue VanErp 1998 Mary Rapson 1999 Scott MacGregor
2000 Mike & Marge Romzek 2001 Lowell, Beth, and Dave McDonald 2002 John & Gayle Ferris
2003 Wayne Brady 2004 John Rowland 2005 Jeff Maurer
2006 Wayne Turmell 2007 Jean Kociba 2008 Dave & Jeanne Howard
2009 Tom Laity 2010 Neil & Connie Fitzgerald 2011 Don Clark
2014 Lynnette Coon 2015 Debra Kervin 2016 Rick & Lori Kociba
2017 Theresa Byrne 2018 Julie Morneau 2019 Mindy Breault
2021 Sharon Binder        
200 N. Barrie Road, Suite 100, Bad Axe, MI Phone: 989-269-9938 Fax: 989-269-2739